HB20-1001 (Mullica & Larson/Bridges & Priola) Nicotine Product Regulation
This bill would raise the minimum age to purchase nicotine products from 18 to 21 years old and ban online sales of nicotine products without proof of I.D. The bill would also require every retailer that sells nicotine products to obtain a license by July 1, 2021 and ensure the enforcement of retail licenses. In addition, the bill would limit a retailer’s ability to advertise nicotine products within 500 feet of a school and increase penalties for selling nicotine products to underage persons.
The Colorado Children’s Campaign supports this bill. Colorado has the highest percentage of youth use of e-cigarettes in the country. We know that raising the age of purchase and requiring sellers to be licensed are evidence-based policies that reduce teen smoking rates, reduce health care costs in the long-term and improve health outcomes.
Passed out of the House Health & Insurance Committee on a vote of 9-1. The bill is headed to the House Finance Committee.
January 24, 2020
Assigned to the House Education Committee where it has not yet been scheduled for a public hearing.