Board of Directors

The Children’s Campaign Board of Directors is comprised of 14 to 24 community leaders from across Colorado. The directors are a diverse mix of members who bring content area expertise and functional skills to advance the work of the organization. We value diverse opinions and perspectives and seek to recruit members from across the state and across the political spectrum, as well as a mix of men and women, people of differing racial and ethnic backgrounds and life experience. Our Board of Directors meets six times a year with one day-long retreat, usually held in September. The Board of Directors is supported by dedicated staff of the Children’s Campaign.

Bernie Buescher, Board Chair
Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, P.C.
Grand Junction, CO / Denver, CO
Remy Spreeuw, Past Board Chair
5280 Magazine
Denver, CO

Darryl Hair, Board Vice Chair
Chief Operating Officer
Sherman & Howard, LLC
Denver, CO

Joan Brennan, Board Treasurer and
Finance Committee Chair
Community Leader
Denver, CO

Lauren Schmidt, Board Secretary
Director of Civil Litigation for the City and County of Denver
Denver City Attorney’s office,
Denver, CO

Ryan Cobbins
Business Owner
Coffee at The Point
Denver, CO

Steve Federico, MD
Director of General Pediatrics, School &
Community Programs
Denver Health
Denver, CO

Margaret Ferguson, MD MBA
President / Executive Medical Director
Colorado Permanente Medical Group
Denver, CO

Curtis Garcia
Visiting Asst. Professor of Teacher Education
Adams State University
Alamosa, CO


Matthew Haemer, MD MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics Nutrition
Univ of CO School of Medicine
Medical Director Lifestyle Medicine
Children’s Hospital Colorado
Denver, CO

Hollie Velasquez Horvath
Director of Community Relations
Xcel Energy
Denver, CO

Sharlene Keithley
Director of Strategic Planning
Desoto Childrens Clinic
Circle of Friends President
Denver, CO

Jeannine Truswell
President & CEO
United Way of Weld County
Greeley, CO

Kelly Causey, PhD, Ex Officio
President & CEO
Colorado Children’s Campaign